Canada's Aid Ledger
Causes · OECD sector group

Canada's aid by cause: Conflict, peace & security

$3,866,559,020 reported from 2005-06 to 2024-25 across 2,411 projects and 758 recipient organizations.

Explore every line in the dashboard →
Total, all years
$3.87B
2005-06 to 2024-25
Latest year
$486M
Projects
2,411
with money reported
Recipient organizations
758
all years

What this money equals at home

Based on $2.63B given abroad as grants on this page. Not counted: $1.24B in repayable loans and $601K already spent in Canada.

8,113
family doctors paid for a year
Average gross clinical payment to a family physician, 2023-24. Includes the doctor's office costs. CIHI, A profile of physicians in Canada
31,152
registered nurses paid for a year
Median wage of $43.27 an hour (2023-24) for 1,950 hours (37.5 hours a week). Wages only, no benefits. Job Bank, Government of Canada
1.2
new 548-bed hospitals
The new St. Paul's Hospital in Vancouver: $2.174 billion for up to 548 beds (2021 budget). Government of British Columbia, March 8, 2021
10,185
affordable homes built
Rapid Housing Initiative: $4 billion for more than 15,500 permanent affordable homes, about $258,000 each. CMHC, Rapid Housing Initiative
118,099
homeless people housed with support for a year
Housing First for people with high needs: $22,257 per person per year. Measured in 2014 dollars, so today's number of people would be lower. Mental Health Commission of Canada, At Home/Chez Soi final report
123 days
of Veterans Affairs Canada's entire budget
Total planned spending of Veterans Affairs Canada for 2025-26: $7.83 billion. Veterans Affairs Canada, 2025-26 Departmental Plan

These comparisons use average Canadian costs to show the scale of the money. They are not a costed plan.

Spending by fiscal year

Read firstFiles before 2016-17 cover only CIDA and DFATD development programs. From 2016-17 they cover every federal department and the provinces, which is why totals jump. Amounts are nominal Canadian dollars per fiscal year (April to March). Aid type was not recorded before 2010-11. Negative amounts are repayments.

By country

By department

By aid type

Top 25 recipient organizations

Top 25 projects

all years, by total amount
#ProjectAmount
1
P002278001 · 2016-17 to 2017-18
Main recipient: (not specified)
$192M
$192,500,000
2
P014129001 ↗ · 2023-24 to 2024-25
Main recipient: United Nations Department ofOperational Support
$75.8M
$75,833,135
3
P012252001 ↗ · 2022-23 to 2024-25
Main recipient: UNDP Multi Donor Trust Fund office
$70.0M
$70,000,000
4
A032947001 · 2005-06 to 2006-07
Main recipient: Canadian Commercial Corporation
$69.3M
$69,327,221
5
OGD202208 · 2021-22 to 2024-25
Main recipient: DND/CAF
$61.6M
$61,587,451
6
A033774001 · 2008-09 to 2013-14
Main recipient: UNMAS - United Nations Mine Action Service
$58.1M
$58,095,138
7
P006849001 ↗ · 2018-19 to 2019-20
Main recipient: (not specified)
$55.0M
$55,000,000
8
P002278002 ↗ · 2017-18
Main recipient: (not specified)
$55.0M
$55,000,000
9
OGD2020080149 · 2021-22 to 2024-25
Main recipient: DND/CAF
$54.6M
$54,552,849
10
D002347001 · 2014-15
Main recipient: (not specified)
$27.5M
$27,500,000
11
P007613001 · 2018-19 to 2021-22
Main recipient: RCMP - Royal Canadian Mounted Police
$24.3M
$24,320,005
12
D002346001 · 2014-15
Main recipient: (not specified)
$22.5M
$22,500,000
13
2009030001 · 2016-17
Main recipient: RCMP
$20.4M
$20,449,380
14
M012386001 ↗ · 2006-07 to 2007-08
Main recipient: UNDP - United Nations Development Programme
$20.0M
$20,000,000
15
A032168002 · 2007-08
Main recipient: (not specified)
$20.0M
$20,000,000
16
P005047006 · 2022-23 to 2024-25
Main recipient: UN Mission in South Sudan
$18.8M
$18,820,109
17
P005053006 · 2022-23 to 2024-25
Main recipient: United Nations MultidimentionalIntergrated Stabilization Mission in the Central African Republic
$18.7M
$18,744,833
18
P007462001 ↗ · 2018-19 to 2019-20
Main recipient: UNDP Multi Donor Trust Fund office
$17.5M
$17,500,000
19
P005002006 · 2022-23 to 2024-25
Main recipient: United Nations Organization Stabilization Mission in the Democratic Republic Congo
$15.6M
$15,593,275
20
P007198001 · 2018-19 to 2023-24
Main recipient: OSCE - Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe
$15.3M
$15,328,763
21
P007180001 ↗ · 2018-19 to 2020-21
Main recipient: UNDP – Peacebuilding Fund (PBF)
$15.0M
$15,000,000
22
P010191001 ↗ · 2020-21
Main recipient: UN Multi Donor Trust Fund office
$15.0M
$15,000,000
23
P015665001 ↗ · 2024-25
Main recipient: UNDP Multi Donor Trust Fund office
$15.0M
$15,000,000
24
M013254001 ↗ · 2009-10 to 2011-12
Main recipient: UNDP - United Nations Development Programme
$15.0M
$15,000,000
25
A033045001 · 2005-06 to 2007-08
Main recipient: African Union
$14.9M
$14,868,425