Canada's Aid Ledger
Causes · OECD sector group

Canada's aid by cause: Government & civil society

$10,046,514,049 reported from 2005-06 to 2024-25 across 5,988 projects and 2,425 recipient organizations.

Explore every line in the dashboard →
Total, all years
$10.0B
2005-06 to 2024-25
Latest year
$736M
Projects
5,988
with money reported
Recipient organizations
2,425
all years

What this money equals at home

Based on $9.68B given abroad as grants on this page. Not counted: $371M in repayable loans and $532K already spent in Canada.

29,861
family doctors paid for a year
Average gross clinical payment to a family physician, 2023-24. Includes the doctor's office costs. CIHI, A profile of physicians in Canada
114,664
registered nurses paid for a year
Median wage of $43.27 an hour (2023-24) for 1,950 hours (37.5 hours a week). Wages only, no benefits. Job Bank, Government of Canada
4.5
new 548-bed hospitals
The new St. Paul's Hospital in Vancouver: $2.174 billion for up to 548 beds (2021 budget). Government of British Columbia, March 8, 2021
37,491
affordable homes built
Rapid Housing Initiative: $4 billion for more than 15,500 permanent affordable homes, about $258,000 each. CMHC, Rapid Housing Initiative
434,695
homeless people housed with support for a year
Housing First for people with high needs: $22,257 per person per year. Measured in 2014 dollars, so today's number of people would be lower. Mental Health Commission of Canada, At Home/Chez Soi final report
1.2 years
of Veterans Affairs Canada's entire budget
Total planned spending of Veterans Affairs Canada for 2025-26: $7.83 billion. Veterans Affairs Canada, 2025-26 Departmental Plan

These comparisons use average Canadian costs to show the scale of the money. They are not a costed plan.

Spending by fiscal year

Read firstFiles before 2016-17 cover only CIDA and DFATD development programs. From 2016-17 they cover every federal department and the provinces, which is why totals jump. Amounts are nominal Canadian dollars per fiscal year (April to March). Aid type was not recorded before 2010-11. Negative amounts are repayments.

By country

By department

By aid type

Top 25 recipient organizations

Top 25 projects

all years, by total amount
#ProjectAmount
1
P008157001 ↗ · 2019-20 to 2020-21
Main recipient: Equality Fund
$300M
$300,000,000
2
OGDFinance-2023-15 · 2022-23 to 2024-25
Main recipient: International Development Association
$180M
$180,338,003
3
(no project number) · 2016-17 to 2018-19
Main recipient: International Development Association
$134M
$133,608,245
4
P006259001 · 2018-19 to 2020-21
Main recipient: (not specified)
$130M
$130,000,000
5
OGD2020080011 · 2020-21 to 2021-22
Main recipient: International Development Association
$127M
$126,616,377
6
OGDIDA-CPL · 2021-22 to 2022-23
Main recipient: IDA-CPL
$107M
$107,048,595
7
P012580001 · 2023-24 to 2024-25
Main recipient: (not specified)
$74.9M
$74,937,500
8
M013512001 ↗ · 2011-12 to 2013-14
Main recipient: African Development Bank Group
$65.1M
$65,123,097
9
OGDFinance-2023-14 · 2022-23
Main recipient: International Development Association
$64.2M
$64,206,178
10
M012672001 ↗ · 2008-09 to 2010-11
Main recipient: African Development Bank Group
$60.5M
$60,480,000
11
FIN-IDA-2020 · 2019-20
Main recipient: International Development Association
$51.4M
$51,361,639
12
P001268001 ↗ · 2016-17 to 2018-19
Main recipient: UNDP - United Nations Development Programme
$50.5M
$50,524,161
13
M012697002 · 2007-08
Main recipient: UNDP - United Nations Development Programme
$45.2M
$45,200,000
14
M012697001 · 2007-08
Main recipient: UNDP - United Nations Development Programme
$45.2M
$45,200,000
15
M011929001 · 2005-06
Main recipient: UNDP - United Nations Development Programme
$45.2M
$45,200,000
16
OGD2017050001 · 2017-18
Main recipient: International Development Association
$42.0M
$41,965,013
17
A032660002 · 2007-08
Main recipient: (not specified)
$41.2M
$41,250,000
18
D000724001 ↗ · 2014-15 to 2015-16
Main recipient: UNDP - United Nations Development Programme
$34.0M
$34,000,000
19
P008816001 ↗ · 2020-21 to 2022-23
Main recipient: African Development Bank Group
$33.6M
$33,636,435
20
P002661001 · 2017-18 to 2019-20
Main recipient: (not specified)
$33.0M
$33,000,000
21
A033419003 ↗ · 2009-10 to 2015-16
Main recipient: Government of Ghana
$32.0M
$32,048,880
22
Z020917001 ↗ · 2010-11 to 2015-16
Main recipient: UNOPS - United Nations Office for Project Services
$30.5M
$30,501,431
23
P007299001 ↗ · 2020-21 to 2024-25
Main recipient: Oxfam-Québec
$28.9M
$28,898,042
24
D003327001 · 2015-16
Main recipient: (not specified)
$27.5M
$27,500,000
25
P006680001 ↗ · 2019-20 to 2023-24
Main recipient: Alinea International Ltd
$27.0M
$26,986,411