Canada's Aid Ledger
Countries · Global / Canada / institutions

Canada's aid to African Development Bank (institution)

$52,237,668 reported from 2005-06 to 2024-25 across 18 projects and 17 recipient organizations.

Explore every line in the dashboard →
Total, all years
$52.2M
2005-06 to 2024-25
Latest year
$0
Projects
18
with money reported
Recipient organizations
17
all years

What this money equals at home

Based on $52.2M given abroad as grants on this page.

161
family doctors paid for a year
Average gross clinical payment to a family physician, 2023-24. Includes the doctor's office costs. CIHI, A profile of physicians in Canada
619
registered nurses paid for a year
Median wage of $43.27 an hour (2023-24) for 1,950 hours (37.5 hours a week). Wages only, no benefits. Job Bank, Government of Canada
0.02
new 548-bed hospitals
The new St. Paul's Hospital in Vancouver: $2.174 billion for up to 548 beds (2021 budget). Government of British Columbia, March 8, 2021
202
affordable homes built
Rapid Housing Initiative: $4 billion for more than 15,500 permanent affordable homes, about $258,000 each. CMHC, Rapid Housing Initiative
2,347
homeless people housed with support for a year
Housing First for people with high needs: $22,257 per person per year. Measured in 2014 dollars, so today's number of people would be lower. Mental Health Commission of Canada, At Home/Chez Soi final report
2.4 days
of Veterans Affairs Canada's entire budget
Total planned spending of Veterans Affairs Canada for 2025-26: $7.83 billion. Veterans Affairs Canada, 2025-26 Departmental Plan

These comparisons use average Canadian costs to show the scale of the money. They are not a costed plan.

Spending by fiscal year

Read firstFiles before 2016-17 cover only CIDA and DFATD development programs. From 2016-17 they cover every federal department and the provinces, which is why totals jump. Amounts are nominal Canadian dollars per fiscal year (April to March). Aid type was not recorded before 2010-11. Negative amounts are repayments.

By cause

By department

By aid type

Top 25 recipient organizations

Top 25 projects

all years, by total amount
#ProjectAmount
1
2013-009 · 2013-14
Main recipient: DFAIT
$42.2M
$42,239,111
2
CTCBP 2012-495 · 2013-14
Main recipient: United Nations
$5.0M
$5,000,000
3
M010840001 · 2005-06 to 2006-07
Main recipient: African Development Bank Group
$1.5M
$1,500,000
4
ACCBP 2013-288 · 2013-14
Main recipient: INTERPOL
$1.2M
$1,177,000
5
CTCBP 2012-436 · 2013-14
Main recipient: International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)
$750K
$749,986
6
CTCBP 2012-433 · 2013-14
Main recipient: United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
$500K
$499,743
7
M011381001 · 2005-06 to 2006-07
Main recipient: (not specified)
$280K
$280,103
8
CTCBP 2011-405 · 2013-14
Main recipient: Institute for Security Studies (ISS Africa)
$245K
$244,517
9
CTCBP 2011-406 · 2013-14
Main recipient: Institute for Security Studies (ISS Africa)
$189K
$189,127
10
CTCBP 2013-505 · 2013-14
Main recipient: Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)
$156K
$156,168
11
GPSF-12-051 · 2013-14
Main recipient: Department of National Defence (DND)
$104K
$104,134
12
CTCBP 2011-403 · 2013-14
Main recipient: (not specified)
$24K
$23,519
13
ACCBP 2011-205b · 2013-14
Main recipient: Mission (ACCRA)
$21K
$20,936
14
ACCBP 2011-205 · 2013-14
Main recipient: DFATD Mission (DAKAR)
$14K
$14,276
15
Nigeria/NVRI & Ghana/VSD - CCC Travel - S. Déry · 2013-14
Main recipient: Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Dev (DFATD)
$14K
$13,855
16
ACCBP 2011-205c · 2013-14
Main recipient: Mission (DAKAR)
$11K
$11,301
17
CTCBP 2013-530 · 2013-14
Main recipient: Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP)
$11K
$10,898
18
CTCBP 2013-522 · 2013-14
Main recipient: (not specified)
$3K
$2,994