Canada's Aid Ledger
Countries · Oceania

Canada's aid to Nauru

$6,929,202 reported from 2005-06 to 2024-25 across 41 projects and 56 recipient organizations.

Explore every line in the dashboard →
Total, all years
$6.9M
2005-06 to 2024-25
Latest year
$571K
Projects
41
with money reported
Recipient organizations
56
all years

What this money equals at home

Based on $6.6M given abroad as grants on this page. Not counted: $350K in repayable loans.

20
family doctors paid for a year
Average gross clinical payment to a family physician, 2023-24. Includes the doctor's office costs. CIHI, A profile of physicians in Canada
78
registered nurses paid for a year
Median wage of $43.27 an hour (2023-24) for 1,950 hours (37.5 hours a week). Wages only, no benefits. Job Bank, Government of Canada
0.00
new 548-bed hospitals
The new St. Paul's Hospital in Vancouver: $2.174 billion for up to 548 beds (2021 budget). Government of British Columbia, March 8, 2021
25
affordable homes built
Rapid Housing Initiative: $4 billion for more than 15,500 permanent affordable homes, about $258,000 each. CMHC, Rapid Housing Initiative
296
homeless people housed with support for a year
Housing First for people with high needs: $22,257 per person per year. Measured in 2014 dollars, so today's number of people would be lower. Mental Health Commission of Canada, At Home/Chez Soi final report
0.31 days
of Veterans Affairs Canada's entire budget
Total planned spending of Veterans Affairs Canada for 2025-26: $7.83 billion. Veterans Affairs Canada, 2025-26 Departmental Plan

These comparisons use average Canadian costs to show the scale of the money. They are not a costed plan.

Spending by fiscal year

Read firstFiles before 2016-17 cover only CIDA and DFATD development programs. From 2016-17 they cover every federal department and the provinces, which is why totals jump. Amounts are nominal Canadian dollars per fiscal year (April to March). Aid type was not recorded before 2010-11. Negative amounts are repayments.

By cause

By department

By aid type

Top 25 recipient organizations

Top 25 projects

all years, by total amount
#ProjectAmount
1
P008176001 ↗ · 2019-20 to 2021-22
Main recipient: Green Climate Fund
$3.1M
$3,075,945
2
P013837001 ↗ · 2023-24 to 2024-25
Main recipient: International Atomic Energy AgencyNuclear Security Fund
$350K
$350,265
3
M012646001 · 2007-08
Main recipient: CFTC - Commonwealth Fund for Technical Cooperation
$296K
$296,400
4
M010939005 · 2005-06
Main recipient: CFTC - Commonwealth Fund for Technical Cooperation
$296K
$296,400
5
P009026001 ↗ · 2021-22 to 2024-25
Main recipient: ASIAN DEVELOPMENT BANK (AsDB)
$291K
$290,677
6
M013574001 ↗ · 2011-12
Main recipient: Commonwealth Secretariat
$289K
$288,600
7
M013000001 · 2008-09
Main recipient: CFTC - Commonwealth Fund for Technical Cooperation
$289K
$288,600
8
M010939006 · 2006-07
Main recipient: CFTC - Commonwealth Fund for Technical Cooperation
$277K
$276,900
9
M013670001 ↗ · 2012-13 to 2014-15
Main recipient: COL - Commonwealth of Learning
$173K
$173,160
10
P009106025 · 2020-21
Main recipient: Uncoded
$169K
$168,718
11
P002441001 ↗ · 2018-19 to 2019-20
Main recipient: GEF - Global Environment Facility
$162K
$162,285
12
P010870001 ↗ · 2023-24 to 2024-25
Main recipient: GEF - Global Environment Facility
$155K
$154,910
13
P002426001 ↗ · 2017-18 to 2020-21
Main recipient: Asian Development Bank
$137K
$136,634
14
P012680025 ↗ · 2023-24
Main recipient: Uncoded
$117K
$116,573
15
P001274001 ↗ · 2016-17 to 2017-18
Main recipient: COL - Commonwealth of Learning
$107K
$106,600
16
P010465025 ↗ · 2021-22
Main recipient: Uncoded
$99K
$99,340
17
P008176003 ↗ · 2021-22
Main recipient: Green Climate Fund
$90K
$89,882
18
P000553002 ↗ · 2016-17 to 2018-19
Main recipient: GEF
$78K
$78,416
19
A033262001 · 2006-07
Main recipient: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
$74K
$74,199
20
P000357002 ↗ · 2016-17
Main recipient: AsDB Special Funds
$67K
$66,581
21
P007592026 · 2019-20
Main recipient: INTERNATIONAL ORGANIZATION FOR
$65K
$65,411
22
D002473001 ↗ · 2015-16
Main recipient: COL - Commonwealth of Learning
$53K
$53,300
23
D001919039 · 2014-15
Main recipient: (not specified)
$34K
$34,489
24
D002609023 ↗ · 2015-16
Main recipient: (not specified)
$22K
$22,499
25
A034831001 · 2009-10
Main recipient: Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
$21K
$20,998